Ultimate Guide to Vegan Halloween Candy

While Halloween is just around the corner, there is still plenty of time to get your hands on vegan candy options. And because many mainstream candies are accidentally vegan, your trick-or-treater candy stash may already contain many of these sweet treats.

What to look for: When looking for vegan candy, during Halloween or anytime, be sure to check labels to avoid all the usual non-vegan suspects (dairy, eggs, honey) in addition to ingredients such as gelatin, shellac or confectioner’s glaze derived from the lac insect, refined cane sugar which may or may not contain bone char, and carmine aka red dye derived from ground carmine beetles. Carmine can be listed as natural red dye 4, cochineal extract, crimson lake, carmine lake, C.I.75470, or E 120. Just for some peace of mind, red dye #40 is not derived from carmine and can be enjoyed by vegans.

The sweet stuff: The list below is not all inclusive, but reflects many popular Halloween candies and brands. In addition to mainstream candy brands, don’t forget about your favorite local businesses that support vegan lifestyles.

  • Airheads
  • Atomic Fireballs
  • Blow pops
  • Chick-O-Stick
  • Cry Babies
  • Dots
  • Dum Dums 
  • Enjoy Life - allergy-friendly!
  • Fun Dips
  • Hubba Bubba bubble gum
  • Jolly Rancher (hard candy only) 
  • Lemon Heads
  • Mary Jane
  • Nerds  
  • No Whey - allergy-friendly!
  • Now and Later 
  • Ocho (Coconut and Dark Peanut Butter flavors only)
  • Oreo
  • Red Vines
  • Skittles 
  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Smarties
  • Swedish Fish
  • Sweet Tarts 
  • Twizzlers 
  • UnReal
  • Zbars
  • Zotz

Have a favorite vegan candy that we forgot? Let us know. And have a happy and cruelty-free Halloween!

Feature photo credit: @veganhooray


Sign up here for our e-newsletter and be the first to get the latest vegan news in town.