Between work, school, parenting, travel, and everything else you have on your plate, sometimes you just don't feel like thinking about dinner. We get it. We've been there, too. That's why we've compiled this list of vegan-friendly fast food options. You're welcome.
1. Taco Bell
Just say fresco! The cheese and sour cream will be replaced by a delicious pico de gallo, cutting fat and making everything vegan-friendly. You can customize any item on the menu, so the possibilities are endless. We here at VegOut like these vegan favorites:
- 7-Layer Burrito, fresco style
- Pintos and Cheese, no cheese
- Bean Burrito, fresco style
- Cinnamon twists
*Note that Taco Bell's rice is NOT vegan. It is vegetarian (contains milk) and they are working on a vegan version.
Subway is vegan heaven! Start with Hearty Italian, Italian, or Sourdough bread. Throw on all the veggies, olives, pickles, and jalapeños your heart desires. Top with sweet onion sauce, mustard, oil and vinegar, or fat free Italian dressing. You can even leave off the bread and make it a salad! Add some Lay’s classic or baked chips or SunChips Original if you would like to make it a combo.
Welcome to Moe’s! Not only will you be welcomed by the staff when you enter Moe’s Southwest Grill, you will be welcomed by the menu as well. Try these vegan-friendly options.
Art Vandalay without the cheese and sour cream. This burrito is packed with rice, beans, lettuce, pico de gallo and can be ordered on a white or wheat tortilla.
Unanimous Decision minus the cheese and sour cream. These tacos are loaded with beans, pico de gallo, lettuce, and guacamole in a crispy or flour tortilla.
Build your own! Soft and crispy taco shells as well as whole wheat and white tortillas are all vegan. Choose tofu or beans for your protein and load up with veggies, rice, lettuce, and guacamole. Stop off at the salsa bar for the perfect finish.
Qdoba is another rich source of vegan options. Feel free to indulge in any of the following:
- Corn and flour tortillas
- Black or pinto beans
- Brown or cilantro-lime rice
- Fajita veggies • Guacamole
- Pico de gallo • Salsa roja
- Salsa verde
- Tortilla soup
Watch out! That delicious looking Mango Salsa contains dairy. Unfortunately, it is not vegan.
5. Jimmy John's
Nutrition info on Jimmy John’s website is a little sparse, but we emailed the company and were assured both the white and wheat bread are egg- and dairy-free. Given that, go with the #6 (Vegetarian) minus the cheese and mayo. If you’re super hungry, you could get a #13 (Gourmet Veggie Club), same sandwich only bigger. And if you don't want all the bread, opt for an "unwich" and your sandwich will come wrapped in in lettuce. Don’t forget to order it without the cheese and mayo. Add some regular, BBQ, or jalapeño chips to round out the meal.